Grease

I’ve been listening to the sound track to Grease when I’m out and about lately.  You remember Grease.  The trials and tribulations of a bunch of high school kids from the fifties set to music.  The songs are so like the (by today’s standards) innocent rock and roll of the time you would think they were actual songs of the era.  I love it.
The thing is really kind of over the top.  The characters are parodies of cliche high school kids from a hundred high school movies.  Except Sandy.  Sandy, played by Olivia Newton John, is the fresh faced innocent and she looks the part (still does kind of, doesn’t she?).  Sandy is the anchor, the reality that the rest of the cartoon-like characters swirl and spin around.  My favorite songs are Summer Nights and Hopelessly Devoted to You.
The plot such as it is concerns the innocent Sandy and greaser Danny who had a summer romance.  Now they find themselves in the same school but separated by the expectations of their respective groups.  The problem I have with the movie is that it ended backwards.  A leather clad Sandy sings I Need a Man as she converts to Danny’s greaser ways.
It should have ended the other way.  Danny starts going to church with Sandy, gets saved, they get married and become missionaries to India.  Think of it.  John Travolta a missionary to India.
Oh Sandy.  Why did you do it?  Why did you give in?
Sorry.  I got carried away didn’t I?  After all, it’s just a movie.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Movies, Music, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Grease

  1. 2b14u says:

    I saw a Christian youth musical based on Grease. It was interesting!!

    • Angus Lewis says:

      I know there was version meant for high school performance where several songs were taken out of modified (most notably Look at Me, I’m Sandra Dee). I didn’t know there was a Christian version. I’d like to see that.

  2. Naphtali says:

    Angus, they should have asked you to write the script. Great post.

  3. “It should have ended the other way. Danny starts going to church with Sandy, gets saved, they get married and become missionaries to India. Think of it. John Travolta a missionary to India.
    Oh Sandy. Why did you do it? Why did you give in?”

    My thoughts exactly! Great post.

Leave a Reply

