My TV Shows – Part Three

Continuing my list of TV shows we jump all the way to…

Thursday

30 Rock

The only sitcom on my list.  In my humble opinion sitcoms have fallen on hard times.  No creativity.  No new ideas.  Do what’s been done before.  Trashy and sophomoric has worked before so let’s do more of the same, the trashier the better.  They might as well just go ahead and make a sitcom based on Mad Magazine.

Anyway 30 Rock is not so much a sitcom as it is a farce, more on the lines of Arrested Development.  (They have never had a Very Special Episode.)  The story line is secondary to the jokes.  Used to be it was worth it to watch the whole episode for the one great line.  Lately it seems the great lines come once every third episode.  But I like the people so I think I’ll stick it out.  Seems to me the show is nearing the end of it’s run.

I think I like the show more than my wife does.  That’s the way with sophomoric humor.  Men laugh.  Women roll their eyes.

Person of Interest

A computer whiz creates a computer system that identifies people at risk from all available intelligence.  He gets an ex CIA man to do the dirty work in saving the potential victim.  The whiz is Michael Emerson, another LOST alumnus. This is the only show on my list that could be considered a cop show.  I’ve tried cop shows here and there over the years but I don’t think I’ve seen one I really liked since Hill Street Blues.  Remember that one?

Person of Interest may have staying power.  It has lots of mysteries.  The CIA guy’s past, criminal mastermind with some good in him, corrupt cops lurking around.  And then there are the mysteries surrounding the computer whiz’s past, the program, and his former business associate who is dead, maybe.

The only knock I’ve got is this CIA guy.  He gets beat up and shot a lot.  He sure seems to heal awful quick.

 

 

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My TV Shows – Part Three

  1. Naphtali says:

    I love Person of Interest. Must be because of Jim Caviezel

  2. Joani says:

    Yes, but the “CIA guy” is Jim Cavezial (sp?) and he can do whatever he wants!! Love that show!

Leave a Reply

