My TV Shows – Part One

I may be watching too much television.  I like to think I watch only quality stuff but that’s probably not true.  I thought I might list my shows over the next few days.  Maybe I’ll come to the conclusion I should drop some of them.

Probably not.

So here begins a list of my favorite TV shows in order of their appearance during the week:

Sunday

Once Upon a Time

Fairy tale characters have been banished to the real life town of Storybrooke, Maine.  They don’t know they are fairy tale characters.  Episodes jump back and forth from real life to fairy tale land.  There are core characters but other fairy tale folks keep popping up too.

I found this intriguing at first and I still like it but I find myself getting a little bored with it lately.  I love these shows where there are mysteries, where the story moves forward each week to a payoff somewhere down the road.  But there’s a catch.  If the story does not seem to be moving to that conclusion you might lose interest.  There has to always be the carrot of a payoff held out in front of you.  More about that later.

Harry’s Law

This stars Kathy Bates as head of a storefront law firm.  I like Kathy Bates.  She’s from Memphis.  One episode out of three is good: a crime, a mystery, compelling courtroom drama.  The rest of the time it’s vintage David E. Kelley.  Kelley was creator of Ally McBeal, The Practice, and Boston Legal.  So two out of three episodes degenerate into ludicrous courtroom scenes where Harry pontificates on some ultra-liberal position.  I want to stick with Harry’s Law.  Sometimes it’s not easy.

The Good Wife

This stars Jullianna Margulies as wife of the county prosecutor.  She has to go back into the workforce when her husband goes to jail.  Turns out he’s been big time unfaithful as well as being a crook.  So she picks up the law career she left fifteen years ago.  Virtually everybody in the show has compromised either sexually or ethically or both.  Or they are following their own ethical standards, standards most of us would not agree with.  We watch as Alicia Florrick tries to survive the mine field of law office politics while maintaining her integrity.  Sometimes she fails.

A warning: this is definitely adult oriented material.  I think it’s the best writing and the best acting on television.

Television’s favorite dramas are doctor shows, cop shows, and lawyer shows.   I think lawyer shows are the best because they portray the struggles many of us deal with.  How do you look out for the interests of your client and not cross the line into compromising your morals, your personal integrity?  From a manufacturing standpoint (that’s what I’m familiar with) how do you control cost without sacrificing quality?  How do you sell without misrepresenting your product?  You can just do your job and pretend it doesn’t matter.  (You’re just following orders.)  Or you can see everything as a challenge to your integrity and just make a royal pain of yourself.  It takes wisdom to know what is a battle that needs to be fought.  I don’t think I’ve ever had a problem with this but you could find yourself in a situation where it’s like walking a tightrope.

Anyway I think The Good Wife is a good picture of the challenges and temptations of office life.

The Good Wife is one of the few shows on television that shows Christians who are not either evil or stupid.

That’s it for Sunday.  Stay tuned for what’s on Monday.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

