HGTV

Ten or fifteen years ago I used to watch shows on HGTV.  I especially liked shows that came on Saturday morning because they inspired me to do stuff with my yard.  Gardening By the Yard was my favorite but there were others.  There was one show that took a yard that looked like an EPA Superfund site and transformed it on a budget of maybe $2000.  There were other shows that did the same with kitchens, baths, etc.

Nowadays HGTV is different.  The makeover shows deal with projects that require big yellow diesel earth movers or a large team of subcontractors.  They are kin to the reality shows that have laid waste to network television.  Husbands and wives fight.  Contractors fight with homeowners and with each other.  Project budgets are $10,000 and up, way up.  Other shows deal with buying and selling homes where the homes start at $500,000.  All of this applies to DIY Network as well.

How did this happen?  Have they forgotten about me?  Have they written me off?

Maybe it’s a new generation.  Maybe it’s the economy.  During the depression people wanted to see movies about rich people with elaborate production numbers.  I guess when you have nothing you want to dream about something that takes you as far away from the reality of your life as you can get.  But when you have a little…

I would rather dream about a $2000 project I might be able to do than a $10,000 or $25,000 project that I can’t.

I suspect this change has been driven by the big box home improvement stores that would like you to spend $10,000 rather than $2000 and by the contractors who want you to tackle projects that require professionals rather than do-it-yourselfers.  I watch HGTV and DIY Network.  I watch commercials.  Home improvement, cars, cell phones, houses,  retirement funds.  They’ve all left me behind.  I don’t count anymore.

Boy that was a downer.

Well maybe not.  It’s kind of funny really.

How’s that?

I can relax now.  Those people don’t want my money.

 

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to HGTV

  1. Funny! Happy Bloggentines Day to you

  2. This made me laugh today. I used to love to watch HGTV. Gave me so many ideas for projects. Haven’t watch it much in several years though. Sounds like things have really changed! I can relax now too. . .

  3. Naphtali says:

    Well, you need a Valentine. My husband is stuck on HGTV. Wasn’t Gardening by the Yard with some strange guy named Paul with a big mustache?

Leave a Reply

