Cheap Grace

I’ve started reading Seize the Day – with Dietrich Bonhoeffer by Charles Ringma.  It’s a book of daily devotionals.  Each day has a scripture reference, a quote from the writings of Dietrich Bonhoeffer, a paragraph by Mr. Ringma relating to the quotation, and a prayer or thought for the day.  I got a late start so I’m trying to catch up.  Today I read the January 10th entry.  Cheap Grace.  Here is part of the Bonhoeffer quote:

“Cheap grace is the preaching of forgiveness without requiring repentance, baptism without church discipline, communion without confession, absolution without personal confession.”

That’s from The Cost of Discipleship.  I guess I’ve always had a suspicion that cheap grace was a term some people use to squelch any joy we may find in the unbelievable gift of new life in Christ.   I think grace does need to stand on its own.  I believe we need to spend time thinking about it, marveling at the free gift of God’s grace.

But I got something else from this today.  Charles Ringma said this:

“God’s gift of new life in Jesus Christ is not a right that we can claim.  It is gift that we may receive.  Christ’s gift of life came at the cost of death.  The maintenance of that new life does not come easily and cheaply either.”

Say you had a rich uncle who gave you a new Corvette.  No, a new Mustang, a Cobra Mustang.  That snake emblem on the front fenders and the grille.  No cute stripes or paint job on this one.  No shiny wheels.  This one is businesslike.  You turn the key and the engine springs to life, burbling expectantly.  You put it into gear and you feel the tension in every body panel and bolt and nut.  What a gift!

A few months pass, maybe a year, and your rich uncle happens by.  Your car is dirty, really dirty.  The left rear tire is half flat.  The hood latch is popped.  The driver’s window is halfway down.  As he sits there a sparrow lands on the top of the window with some straw in his beak.  He pauses then flits into the interior.

Would you treat a car like that?  Would you treat a gift like that?  Not me.  I wouldn’t let sparrows nest in it.  I wouldn’t want birds to even fly over it.  I would wash and wax it and check the tire pressure every Saturday.  I would change the oil regularly.  I would change filters when the manual said to.  That car would be my pride, my joy.

My rich uncle paid a lot for that car.  I should not treat it frivolously.  Of course my rich uncle is, well, rich.  He probably didn’t even miss the money.

But the price of grace was more than you or I can imagine.  What do we do with it?  Do we let birds nest in it?  Let the pressure go down?  Let it get dirty?  Neglect it’s maintenance?  When we devalue the gift we are devaluing the giver.

 

 

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Books, Christianity, Quotations, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cheap Grace

  1. I liked the idea of getting a new mustang from a rich uncle the best. At least that was an idea I could understand. We should appreciate all that we have.

  2. I remember a quote from something I read long ago….”What have you done with the garden that was entrusted to you?”

  3. Naphtali says:

    Mr. Lewis I just couldn’t leave you out of this remarkable group of award winners…I have nominated you for the Just Kidding Award….you certainly deserve this prestigious gift so when you have time just stop by my place and get it!

    http://craigmotor.wordpress.com/2012/02/12/the-just-kidding-award/

Leave a Reply

