The Game Is Afoot – I’m Done

The greatest trick the Devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn’t exist.  Verbal Kint,  The Usual Suspects

For anybody out there expecting a full blown ersatz Sherlock Holmes novel, I apologize.  I never had that in mind.  My vision only went as far as what I’ve already done.  I guess if I ever really set out to write a novel I would have to get over the vision thing and make up a lot more than three thousand words.  If you held a gun to my head I could make up a story.  Let’s see.  The girl was infatuated with the distant cousin and followed him to Paris.  She got kidnapped.  There was the possibility of an international incident.  Anarchists, Communists, underworld figures, pimps and prostitutes.  I could do that.  If I thought about it long enough I could talk myself into it.  But in the end it’s Sherlock Holmes, fan fiction.  No prospects, no purpose except exercise.  A long walk to nowhere.

I guess the real purpose of this was the idea that Moriarty is a shadowy figure.  Does he exist or does he not?  Kind of like Satan.  Satan, like Moriarty in my story, wants to humiliate us, to burden us with guilt, to marginalize us and make us a laughingstock.  Of course Satan in doing those things to us really wants to do all those things to Jesus.

So God has a plan, to lift up and exalt Christ.  And Satan has a plan, to marginalize and devalue and ridicule Christ.  And the only way either can accomplish their plans is through us.  That’s the game.  The game is afoot and the game is us.

If I did finish the story I have a scene in my head that I would end with.  It’s stuck in my head.  Humor me.

The story ends with one of those ‘all the characters in one room’ scenes.  Think ‘The murderer is in this room’ from The Thin Man.  Or ‘This is what happened’ from Monk.  After that…

Hobbs and Wilson came out the front door and went down the short flight of stairs to the sidewalk.  Hobbs stopped two steps before the bottom of the stairs with Wilson a couple of steps behind him.  Wilson felt the icy chill of goosebumps run up his spine.  Hairs stood up on the back of his neck.  He looked at the steady stream of pedestrians passing by, looked from face to face to face.  Was it him?  Was it her?  Maybe the street vendor.  Hobbs looked up at him.  Their eyes met.  Hobbs gave him an almost imperceptible nod.

Together they stepped down and joined themselves to the tangled stream that was humanity.

Copyright © 2012 by Angus B. Lewis
All rights reserved

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Movies, Quotations, Short Story, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Game Is Afoot – I’m Done

  1. Satan’s Game is Afoot, indeed. Well done.

  2. “So God has a plan, to lift up and exalt Christ. And Satan has a plan, to marginalize and devalue and ridicule Christ. And the only way either can accomplish their plans is through us. That’s the game. The game is afoot and the game is us.”

    Amen!

Leave a Reply

