Missing in Action

I last posted on the ninth, not that long ago but I really meant to be more prolific and consistent starting in January.  I’ve been under the weather but I consider that an excuse instead of a reason.  I’m afraid I’ve gotten into playing solitaire when I should be writing.  There’s a draft that I really want to finish up but it will probably be next weekend before I can do that.  I’ll be out of town this week and I don’t know if I will have internet without paying for it.

I sat down at Panera this morning and started writing something that’s been rolling around in my head for a week or so.  Fiction, scene and character.  It felt good.  I mean it felt really good.  Maybe it’s what I should be doing.  Anyway doing something is always better than doing nothing.

I went to see Gone With The Wind yesterday at an old movie house in downtown North Kansas City.  I’m not a huge fan of GWTW but there wasn’t anything new out that I was interested in and I thought it might be interesting to see it in a theater.  There were close to 200 there, not sold out but pretty crowded.  The audience was mostly old, many older than me.  And women were in the majority.

The movie was as I remembered it.  The first half is the best.  The second half kind of bogs down for me, too long and too melodramatic.  Soap opera stuff.  Still it was well done.  The cinematography was great.  They loved silhouettes on the horizon.  The acting was top notch.  The line ‘I don’t know nuthn bout birthin’ no babies’ has become a joke but the truth is the character of Prissy was carefully and finely acted.  That was Butterfly McQueen.

One of the things I was looking forward to was the music.  The main theme, Tara’s Theme, is one of my favorite movie themes.  I had a record back around 1960 or so, Percy Faith and his orchestra, lush orchestral arrangements of movie themes.  Probably not many remember him.  Tara’s’s Theme and the theme from Laura were my favorites.

We are used to panoramic movie screens and sound that fills the room.  GWTW is 1.33 to 1 aspect ratio so no panoramic screen.  And the sound was disappointing by today’s standards.  It was still a nice experience though.  We miss something by watching on TV alone in our living rooms.  The shared experience adds to the movie.

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Movies, Music, Uncategorized, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Missing in Action

  1. I always look forward to your posts, so get to feeling better. I’m taking a bit of a breather in the blogging, myself, but I can’t blame it on anything other than procrastination. By the way, I remember Percy Faith quite well.

  2. Hope you stay well. Appreciated your analysis of being in a movie theater – even with sound and screen limitations – it is a social experience. (Will movies change in style to appeal to a small living room audience?)

Leave a Reply

