Sickness

I got a little sinus thing the week before Christmas.  By the time I went home (Thursday, the 22nd) it was on the wane.  I had a good ten days at home but near the end of my trip it was coming back.  When it comes back it always comes back worse.  I get these things and get over the worst of it pretty quick but the drainage and cough last forever.  I sound like I’m going to cough up a lung.  People stay away from me.  I’m going to a conference next week where I have to chair a five hour meeting.  I’m taking Musinex, Dayquil, Tilonol, nasal spray, sinus irrigation (yuck).  I need to be better by next Tuesday.

So yesterday I stayed home.  Watched Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid on AMC.  The commercials.  When they started they didn’t do commercials.  TCM doesn’t have commercials.  Why do they?  Anyway I watched that then I watched two football games I didn’t care about while napping off and on.  A generally miserable day.

Here’s the thing.  Every year I get something like this and every year I think this is more than a sinus thing.  This is more serious.  This time it’s life threatening.  Faith goes out window. And I become a whimpering, pitiful, moaning mess of a child.  This seems to be a common trait of the male of the species.  You women out there.  You shouldn’t let us get away with it.

I’m convinced the physical aspects of sickness are not the real problem.  Satan uses the physical to attack us on the mental, emotional, and spiritual areas of our lives.  Those are the real battlegrounds.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Movies, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sickness

  1. Naphtali says:

    Angus, I hear you . The devil has attacked me with upi stuff my whole life. I know now God wants us healthy. I spent 2 hour in the clinic yesterday getting meds for this stuff!

  2. Neeks says:

    Sorry to hear you’ve been sick – it’s been going around here at work too. I had it and actually stayed out sick a day (I have accumulated over 450 sick hours in the 14+years I’ve been here, I just don’t call in sick often). You know it’s bad if I stay out with it…I hope yours gets better soon! I still am a little congested too, and it’s been over a couple of weeks since I had it.

    • Angus Lewis says:

      I went to the doctor yesterday. Got an antibiotic. I’m getting better. Seems like every year it takes longer to get well.
      The worst part is I get home in the evening and I don’t feel like doing anything that takes concentration. I’ve got a couple of posts that are nagging me to be written. Maybe this weekend.
      Thanks for your comment.

  3. Neeks says:

    Yea, take your time and get well. Sometimes we rush ourselves in an effort to get better faster and end up back at work and sick again. I try to sleep a lot when I’m sick like that, it’s when our bodies repair themselves best. I do hope you are better soon!

Leave a Reply

