Sherlock Holmes

We went to see the new Sherlock Holmes movie last week.  I was kind of tired so I may have not been into it but I didn’t like the movie as much as the first one.  Still it was a good movie.  Lots of action, engaging story line, clever banter between Holmes and Watson.  It was entertaining.

I don’t think this is the Holmes of Arthur Conan Doyle.  I’ve only read one or two of the original Sherlock Holmes stories and that was a long time ago but I don’t think Holmes was an action hero.  No chase scenes, no gun fights, no explosions, no hand to hand combat – especially in slow motion.  And I think the relationship between Holmes and Doctor Watson was different.  Watson idolized Holmes.  He kept a diary of the man’s exploits and the diary became the books we read.  Holmes was standoffish.  He had somewhat of a superior attitude.  ‘Elementary, my dear Watson.’  I don’t know.  Maybe I’m remembering the Basil Rathbone movies.  Maybe I’ve got it all wrong.

There’s one other thing that troubles me and that’s this Professor Moriarty.  Maybe it’s the frustrated writer in me but here’s how I would play him.  He would remain a shadowy figure, never quite real, only his presence felt, only the results of his devious schemes seen.  Because Moriarty is not just a man.  He is a prototype, a metaphor for Satan himself.  I believe there is a real person, Satan, who wants to dominate, to defeat, to enslave.  I have no question about that.  But if we concentrate on him we miss the danger around us.

For the danger is not just that one person.  It is an attitude, a point of view, a way of thinking.  We want to blame Satan but the truth is his raw material is in us.  His work is to activate it.  Wrath, envy, hatred, pride, jealousy.   The potential for evil that is buried in us must remain buried.  If we give ground he takes more and we find ourselves defending instead of attacking, retreating, running out of room to maneuver, until we are defeated.

Moriarty is among us.  We enter a room and we know he’s been there.  We pass on the street and we sense his passing.  We must be aware and alert.  For he is subtle.  And he is patient.

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Books, Christianity, Movies, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sherlock Holmes

  1. Subhakar Das says:

    I agree with you about this Sherlock Holmes not being of the type envisaged by Sir Doyle. And just thinking, Holmes and Moriarty being inside all us, a sort of Jekyll and Hyde thing, how good we are, how bad we can get…
    Nice post, btw.

  2. Angus, I agree. We shouldn’t focus on demons around every corner but must be wary of how Satan subtly tempts each of us each day–that’s the real battlefront.

    Through Jesus’ blood, we are more than conquerors. . .

    • Angus Lewis says:

      You are right. We don’t need to be afraid of him. We just need to be aware of his tactics. We should be in attack mode rather than defensive.

      Thanks for your comment.

  3. Lots of people were happy with this movie. The way they portrayed the characters is part of the reason. It’s like the producers just what the Holmes brand without understanding what everything is and means. Current society just isn’t into “subtle” – or thinking?

    • Angus Lewis says:

      I fear you are right. The industry is afraid to do anything but blockbusters, lots of explosions. They don’t think there is an audience for subtlety and intelligence.

Leave a Reply

