Obsessed with Movies

I’ve got a cold and I’ve got a lot on my mind today so I’m digging out some fluff I stuck in drafts a while back.

Top ten indications you may be obsessed with movies:

  1. Every time you buckle your seat belt you picture yourself as Steve McQueen in Bullit just before the start of the Race.
  2. You introduce yourself as Lewis, Angus Lewis and ask for for your iced tea to be shaken, not stirred.   (Why is the waitress at Cracker Barrel looking at me that way?)
  3. You keep searching in drawers and closets for those letters of transit.
  4. You keep thinking how much better your life would be if it had a sound track.
  5. By John Williams.
  6. When your wife says she’s leaving you you think of it as a plot point.
  7. You lecture your kids about their future with the aid of a story board.
  8. You go through your day thinking about what scenes should go into the trailer.
  9. The poster.  Where is the iconic still you can use on the poster?
  10. When you find yourself in an upstairs hall with a glass wall looking down into a large room you want to beat on the wall and shout, “Elaine, Elaine, Elaine.”
About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Humor, Movies, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Obsessed with Movies

  1. Thanks for kick-starting my day with your blogs. Always such fun.

  2. LOL, Angus. Ah, the mind of a writer–always analyzing, always storing away those “nuts” of inspiration. . . .

  3. Naphtali says:

    So funny! you always make me laugh!

    Try some Walgreen’s brand of Mucinex. Pray. Gets lots of rest. Drink plenty of fluids.
    I sound like someone who knows about colds. Get well and write some more. I am waiting.

  4. Number 2 is my favorite. Wonder if that works if you’re female too?

  5. susielindau says:

    Awesome and way to funny. I wonder what you are like without a cold???

Leave a Reply

