Guidelines for Posting

Being as how it’s a new year and all I thought it would be good to set down some guidelines for the general theme of my blog.  After all you invite people into your blog they have a right to expect a certain consistency of atmosphere, of ambiance, of  (Where’s that thesarus?   What’s another word for thesarruss?  Because I’m really having trouble spelling thessarus.)

So I thought that here at the beginning of a new year I would set down my rules, my guidelines, my manifesto, my rules (That’s it.  Punch up that word count.) for blogging.  So here goes:

  1. Keep it light

Good humor always helps.  I’m not talking about belly laugh funny.  Maybe a chuckle now and then but if not that at least I can keep the tone good humored.  The most serious of subjects go down easier if delivered with a light touch.

        2.  Don’t take myself too seriously

I have a category called High Sounding Garbage.  I probably only used it a couple of time last year and I’m guessing I should’ve used it on about a third of my posts.

Let’s face it.  Profound is overrated, especially when it’s written as in your face profound.

        3.  Stay away from politics

These are serious times.  There are important issues being discussed.  And they should be discussed.  But not by me.

I confess I sometimes have thoughts (There’s where the trouble starts.)  I write a post telling how I’m right and the rest of you are wrong.  I (thankfully) save it as a draft.  I come back the next day and see where I may be wrong and the rest of you right.  What would happen if I posted about politics is that the people who agree with me would say ‘Right on, brother’ and the rest would just get mad.  I don’t have the power to change anybody’s mind.

         4.  Leave out the sarcasm and mean spiritedness

I write a post and save it as a draft.  The next day I read it and I hear the sarcasm and mean spiritedness.  I don’t post.  I leave it there hoping that stuff will evaporate over time.  It doesn’t.  Still there may be something there I want say.  I just need to say it differently.

Some thought my rant on Titanic was just that, a rant.  Maybe it was to an extent but I wanted it to be at least a little tongue in cheek.  Tongue in cheek doesn’t always convey through the written word.

        5.  Write more story

My favorite thing to do is write story, character and scene.  I write my posts in quick hits, thirty minutes to an hour.  Not enough time to develop.  Or I tell myself that.  Hopefully in the new year I will have more time to just write.

So there they are, my rules of the road.  Feel free to refer back to them and call me on it when I stray.

Happy and blessed new year to all.

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, High Sounding Garbage, Humor, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guidelines for Posting

  1. Hudson Howl says:

    Being new to wordpress, bloggy shtuffs and to your place on the webby place, all looks good from where I sit. Looking forward to stopping by from time to time, to see what is on anothers mind is what its all about – a nice change to my own perspective.

  2. I like your rules. Flexible and lighthearted. I’m looking forward to reading your post throughout the year. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

