Titanic

Apology in advance.  I may be stepping all over your favorite movie over the next two or three days.

I saw Mission Impossible yesterday.  It was great.  Didn’t try to be anything more than what it is, a thrill ride, mile a minute, nonstop action.  A great guy movie.
That’s the good news.  The bad news was in the trailers.
It’s coming back.  (Cue the Jaws music.)
Da dum.
Titanic.
Da dum.
This time in 3D.
Da dum.
The sappy love story.  The cardboard characters.
Daa dum.  Daa dum.  Daa dum… (Okay kill the music.)
And here’s the worst.
Celine Deon.
The song. My Heart Will Go On.

The horror.
The horror.

I know.  This may really be just a guy thing.  Part of my revulsion is caused by the fact that Titanic beat Star Wars out of number one all time box office.  You have to see that that’s just not right.

If I had my way the re-release would have the following scene running during the closing credits.

The credits began to roll.  The lights came up and people began to stir around looking for coats and purses.  Some were touched, wiping tears from their eyes even now after six months of continuous showing of Titanic.  Couples headed arm in arm for the exit.  Mothers dragged sleepy children back toward the real world.  But one man stood unmoving, staring unbelieving at the screen.  He was old, at least ninety. Frail, arthritically stooped.  A few wisps of his unruly hair stood electrically in the air.  He was mumbling something.  He was looking at the patrons drifting by, trying find someone who would listen.  But on one would stop to hear his story.  They avoided his gaze, hurrying for the exit.  No one would know.
“That’s not the way it happened.  Not at all.  She tricked me.  She talked me into stealing that diamond.  Then she tried to leave me to drown.  But I didn’t”
He laughed quietly to himself.
“I didn’t drown.  I survived.  I’m still alive.”

 

More on Titanic tomorrow.

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Humor, Movies, Short Story, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Titanic

  1. Good one! Didn’t see that ending coming. (P.S. I know it’s sappy, but I liked the movie. And I, too, cried.)

  2. I must be the only female on the planet who hasn’t seen the movie, “Titanic.” Liked your ending though! Looking forward to tomorrow’s offering.

  3. Angus Lewis says:

    Don’t think you’re missing out on something.
    Actually there’s one scene…
    Jack and whatshername are in the hold where the cars are stored. They have sex in the back seat of one of the them. As I recall you don’t see anything but you know what they’re doing.
    But that’s not the scene.
    Later they are in a stateroom and she’s lying naked on the couch. Jack’s drawing a picture of her.
    Up till then the movie is reasonably PG13. This scene is completely out of left field.
    Can’t imagine the purpose for it.

Leave a Reply

