Nonsense

Last weekend I went to see The Muppets.  I was asking myself why a sixty-six year old man would go to a movie with puppets.  By myself.  This was the second weekend the movie was out and it was a Sunday afternoon so the crowd was small.  Most had their children with them.  I suspect the children didn’t want to be there.  The girls probably wanted to see a movie with a princess in it and the boys wanted something with disgusting bodily noises in it.  The adults brought the kids as cover.  Because they wanted to see it.  They wanted to see for the same reasons I did.  One part nostalgia and three parts we just loved The Muppet Show.

The Muppet Show was a thirty minute variety show staring, well, the Muppets with a live guest host.  The guest hosts were stars from movies and TV and some pretty big recording stars.  Anybody with a name who didn’t mind being upstaged by a cheap piece of fabric with two eyes and a mouth.  I loved it.  It was zany comedy.  It was complete and utter nonsense.  Zany is a tag that seems to have gotten a negative connotation.  Maybe calling it nonsense would make us feel better about it.  Makes no sense at all.  Don’t send it in to the New Yorker because they would just stick their nose in the air and sniff.

Comedy today seems just mean instead of funny.  (Now I do sound old.  Music’s too loud, the way kid dress, how much for a hamburger?)  What we need is nonsense.  Like the old days.  Like…

Airplane, The Jerk, the early years of Steve Martin (think fake arrow on the head), Monty Python (the department of silly walking), the early years of Saturday Night Live (Coneheads, killer bees, land shark).  None of this stuff makes any sense.  It’s ridiculous, dumb, low brow, not worty of our time.  I love it.

Come to think of it most of this stuff happened in the seventies, the decade after the turbulent sixties.  Maybe that’s what we needed.  Maybe that’s what we need now.  We should declare the two thousand teens as the decade of nonsense.  We need less Two and a Half Men and more nonsense, stuff that just puts a silly grin on your face.  Like The Muppet Show.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Humor, Movies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Nonsense

  1. raburcke says:

    Are we the two old gits up in the balcony?

  2. Amen Angus! Those comedies you listed are among my all-time favorites! I have a whole huge bookcase full of TV and Movie DVD’s. Most of them are comedies. Most of them are also from before 1985. Comedy really started going downhill in the late 80’s. I love the original muppet show. SOmetimes while cooking, I still find myself talking like the Swedish Chef…… Great post! Now, I’m gonna go get out my Fawlty Towers DVD and enjoy some classic comedy….. and I need to add Muppet DVD’s to my Xmas list …. 🙂

  3. Manoahswife says:

    Always loved the Swedish Chef!! Didn’t even know they had a Muppets movie out this Christmas. What planet have I been living on? Going to have to go see it and drag my husband and my daughter with me. Won’t really have to work too hard at that!

  4. Hudson Howl says:

    In my mind the last decades have been just silly as they always were and have been. Simply for the fact my measure of silliness comes from my own making. I don’t watch television (they still call it television don’t they) nor do I go to all that many movies on the big screen (they still call it the big screen don’t they). Have heard the new puppet movie is good ‘silly’. So I think I too will shell out some righteous bucks and do ‘silly’. Silly is good; it keeps the child inside alive.

Leave a Reply

