NaNoWrite

Last year I tried the National Writing Month thing.  I don’t think I had a story that could be sustained for 50,000 words.  I ran out of gas very early, about 7,000 words.  But still I gave it a try.  It’s hard for me to spit out 1200 at one sitting.  Besides I seem to be wired more for short stories.

On a whim I started to write something yesterday morning, just an exercise really.  Later I realized it would mesh with another scene that had popped into my head the week before.  I can see a real story coming out of this.

So here we are.  November 1 is tomorrow.  I’ve set myself up in NaNoWrite.  I’m not saying I will.  I’m not saying I won’t.  But I might.

By the way this is the exercise I wrote yesterday.  I’ve done better but good is not what NaNoWrite is about, is it?

The quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dog.  The dog raised his head and looked over his shoulder as the fox disappeared into the hedge.  The dog heaved a sigh and drug himself to his feet. Might as well make an effort he thought.  Otherwise they might just bury me here on the spot.  He trotted to the place where his nemesis had vanished.  He sniffed around in case someone was watching.
Then out of nowhere there was the Pup was next to him.  Where had he come from?  The little stinker dug is nose into the damp and moldy leaves.  He sniffed.  He blew into the leaves.  Then predictably he backed up and sneezed.  Once, twice, three times he sneezed.  Now here it comes.  The kid leaned his head back and bayed.  Yes he bayed.  Next he dove into the hedge yipping excitedly.  All you could see was his tail wagging enthusiastically.
He’s long gone kid.  Give it up.  You’re just going to make work for both of us.
 

The synopsis as listed in NaNoWrite is:

Small time truck farmer and his wife in their late fifties take over responsibility for raising his sister’s nine year old son when she and her husband are killed in a car wreck.

We’ll see where it leads.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Short Story, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

