I Would Like to Thank…

I would like to thank all the little people who helped me get this award:

Wait a minute.  That’s not right.  None of us are little people.  In the spiritual sense, in the sense of significance and value I mean.  Not in the sense of weight.  I’m not insinuating any of you are overweight.  That’s not what I meant at all.

Okay let me start over.

I would like to thank Monique at neekswrite for nominating me for the Versatile Blogger award.  It means a lot to me.  It means that my stumbling attempts at writing actually makes sense to somebody out there.  And Monique I would appreciate it if you could send me something telling me what I was trying say because I sure don’t know.

By the way I love what you are doing with the stories based on three words.  I wish I had thought of it.

So here’s my list of blogs in no particular order:

  1. The Idiot Speaketh  Self proclaimed world’s biggest idiot
  2. If You Could Read My Mind  Christian novelist
  3. Manoah’s Wife  Scripture, comfort, and inspiration
  4. Donald Miller’s Blog  Thought provoking writings by a successful Christian author
  5. Blogjammin  Daily posts from a high school science teacher
  6. The Blog of Otis  Daily happenings in the life of a delusional cat (or is he?)
  7. The Life and Times of Nathan Badley  Really funny
  8. Dendrochronology  The rings of life, thought, and action.
  9. Tammy Holloway The”Write” blog
  10. Cassie Behle  Redefining Life’s Perceptions
  11. From the Church House  Where God’s family can gather around the table

I’m sorry but that’s all I can come up with for now.

Now for seven things about me:

  1. I’m sixty-six years old nearing at least semi retirement.
  2. I’m an engineer.
  3. I have a high school education.  The engineer thing is based on experience, on the job training, and curiosity.
  4. After years of barely breaking 100 playing golf, I shot an 85.  Still have the score card.  I thought I had the game licked.  I was wrong.
  5. I have a wife that I don’t deserve.  She’s the kind of person who when I walk away from her in WalMart and come back she has made a new best friend.
  6. I would be a grouchy old man living like a hermit if it wasn’t for her.
  7. I have two wonderful children and three unusually attractive and intelligent grandchildren.

Thank you Monique.

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Humor, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Would Like to Thank…

  1. manoahswife says:

    Thank you for including me in your list. Thank you also for tipping me onto some other wonderful blogs to explore. Looking forward to some wonderful hours reading! You have been a great encouragement to me–always appreciated.

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    Thank you so much for including me on your list! I really appreciate it. I am a little younger than you, but #6 totally applies to me as well. Without my little lady, I would just be a grouchy idiot hermit 🙂 Have a great weekend 🙂

  3. hudson howl says:

    If neeks at http://neekswrite.wordpress.com/2011/10/07/me-are-you-sure/ thinks your good, you must be. So here I am. Subscribed and ‘locked’ in.

Leave a Reply

