Creativity

We sold our house in May and bought one back home.  My wife has moved down there while I stay in KC at a long stay hotel to finance some improvements to the ‘new’ house and sock back a little more money for retirement.  Not the best situation but it’s short term and I’m trying to make the best of it.

I have somehow gimped up my leg.  Not serious but uncomfortable.  So yesterday (Saturday) I stayed in to rest my leg.  Watched three football games in a row.  The first one was fun.  Razorbacks vs. Aggies.  The game started at eleven.  The Hogs started playing about twelve.  Behind 35 to 17 at the half.  They won it in the last two minutes, 42 to 38.  Lot of fun.  Five hundred and some yards passing.  Loved it.

The other two not so much.  Just taking up time.  Laying there when I could be, should be doing something else.  So this morning I was still kind of numb, not so much depressed, just numb.  I when to my Starbucks before Church.  Sat there and drank my Caramel Whats-it and read on my iPad.  And something odd happened.

I was reading a John Le Carre novel, Smiley’s People.  In the process of advancing the plot, Le Carre describes a waterfront scene that is as clear and detailed as any watercolor painting.  He’s like that.  His descriptions leave you thinking ‘Why would anybody want to make a movie of this?  It’ more clear than any movie could be.’  His characters are clearly developed as well.  I feel like I know them.  I am amazed at the creativity, the skill, the clarity of his work.

Then I was distracted.  Starbucks is pushing that Beatles Number Ones album (how did Here Comes the Sun not make number one?) and they were playing it on their speakers.  I couldn’t read for listening.  I had forgotten how much the pop music, the roll and roll of those days, how good it made you feel.  There’s just something about it that lifts your spirits.  The thing I’ve always admired about the Beatles is that they didn’t sit still.  The honed their craft.  They evolved. They grew as artists.

So I sat there filled with joy.  Reading a spy novel, listening to forty year old rock music, filled with joy, joy and appreciation for creativity.  Dumb but there I was almost in tears.  You know why?  Because through that novel and through that music I think God was speaking to me.  Something about sitting still vs. doing something.

Sure here we go.  I can’t just take it for what it was.  I have to analyze it.  I know I know it and I know you know it but here it is.  The way out of defeat, numbness, the mully grubs is to get up and do something, something creative.  You may not write a block buster novel or a number one hit but you don’t really know where it will lead unless you try.

People get the wrong idea about Christianity.  They think it’s lists of you must not do this and you must do that.  Well it’s not.  When Jesus really gets ahold of you and turns you upside down and inside out and changes you completely it becomes not a matter of ‘you must’.  It’s more like ‘you can’.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Books, Christianity, Short Story, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

