Forgiveness

I’ve been doing daily readings from the works of C. S. Lewis this year and I just read one on the topic of forgiveness.

Mr. Lewis wrote that when we ask God to forgive us many times we are really asking Him to excuse us which is not the same thing.  Instead of saying ‘I sinned.  Please forgive me.’  we are saying:

‘It’s just the way I was made.’

‘I was raised that way.’

‘There were extenuating circumstances.’

‘He pushed my buttons.’

In other words ‘It’s not entirely my fault.’

We have excuses.

Of course if we are looking for excuses we have one, the ultimate excuse.  We are under the thumb of our enemy.  Satan is our excuse.  Every failure, every misstep, every sin we can lay at his feet, right?  And for that matter we could say it’s God’s fault because He left us in this state.  Couldn’t we?

But that won’t wash because Jesus was in the same position as us and He did not sin.    He had the power, the power to choose, to power to turn away from what Satan has to offer.  And we do too.

From Adam, from Eve, till now we have always had the power to choose, to turn away.  But we don’t.  We don’t and it’s not because of the way were raised or because what somebody did to us or because God left us here under the influence of Satan.

No excuses.

The reason we sin is because our focus is on the big I instead of Him.  What I want is more important to me than what He wants.  I am bigger in my eyes than He is.

That’s the facts and that’s the truth as much as it hurts.

No excuses.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Forgiveness

  1. Neeks says:

    How very true. Thanks.

  2. manoahswife says:

    The “Liked” button just isn’t good enough for this post. The pride of “self” is an ugly beast.

Leave a Reply

