Post a Day?

I have removed the post a day logo from my blog screen.  I no longer post a day.  I’m doing good to post a week.

I started well.  I posted daily for a couple of months.  Even when I couldn’t every day I managed to catch up.

Then I would have to be out of town for a few days and I wouldn’t catch up.  Then other things happened and I sort of gave up.  Then it became a thing of post when something would get ahold of me and wouldn’t let go till I wrote it.  In the beginning I would actively seek those topics that would drive me to post.  Now it seems the topics seek me and beat on the door till I let them in.

So why did I take this on in the first place?  I must confess something.  I think I wanted to do this because I don’t want to be ordinary.  That sounds like the very pinnacle of pride, hubris to the nth degree.  But hold on.  Maybe not.

We are told to not think of ourselves more highly than we ought.  We look around and see the Gifted and Talented people.  Extraordinary people.  And then there’s the rest of us.

Maybe so.  Maybe on some level that is true.  But here’s what I think.  I think we are all extraordinary people.  We all have the divine touch.  We are God created, God breathed.   We are all extraordinary people.  The world is not divided into the extraordinary and the ordinary.  The world is divided into the people who ARE extraordinary and those who DO extraordinary things.  the problem is that we have been convinced that we are not special, that we do not have that divine touch.  Or we are waiting for a green light from God.  Well you’ve got it.  Why would put His extraordinary nature in you and want you to hide it?

So go ahead.  Do something extraordinary every day.  Sometimes you might come off looking like a fool but so what?  What are you trying to protect, your reputation?

But that’s a whole nuther topic.

 

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Post a Day?

  1. Harnew says:

    “The world is divided into the people who ARE extraordinary and those who DO extraordinary things.” I love this line.

  2. Neeks says:

    Another fine and thought-provoking post Angus. I do agree that we are all extraordinary in some way…but not everyone is meant to write – or sing – or draw or whatever. Each person needs to find that special something they excel at and then do what comes naturally! In my case, stumble! lol

    • Harnew says:

      I don’t think Angus was implying everyone is meant to sing,write or draw. Angus meant exactly what you just said. Everyone is capable of achieving extraordinary things

Leave a Reply

