Open to Ridicule

I don’t want to be thought of as unintelligent, dumb, backward.  That’s why these debates about creation versus evolution kind of make me uncomfortable.  I guess I’m afraid I’ll be grouped with those who believe the Genesis account literally.  You know, seven of our days and it was done.  It could have happened that way or it could have taken longer.  We don’t know.  Did God speak and boom, it happened?  Or did He kick it off and let physics have it’s way with His guiding hand?  The only thing I know for sure is that God spoke and it happened.

There are problems with evolution that don’t get talked about.  Fossil records show evolutionary spurts where new species appear in bunches.  Evolution does not appear to be a linear progression.  What do you do with that?  And the whole thing about how life began.  They have a theoretical model but they can’t make it happen in the laboratory.  And according to the model the conditions would have to be so perfect that if it did happen you would tend to call it, well, a miracle.

But regardless of that if we suggest that life as we know it came about by anything more than natural means we are ridiculed, called unintelligent, dumb, backward.  That’s how it is and that’s how it has been throughout history.  Christians get laughed at.   We should be used to it.  As a matter of fact if we are not being persecuted, marginalized, or ridiculed we probably aren’t doing it right.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Open to Ridicule

  1. Neeks says:

    …and yet we persevere. Great post, I agree! God Bless!

  2. youthguyerik says:

    Its interesting how angry folks get over what you believe. It seems like these are often the guys who preach about everyone being free to have their own opinions…

  3. manoahswife says:

    I have defaulted to the “if God said He did it in six days and rested on the seventh,” I’m just going to have to go with that. There is no way this side of heaven for me to know. The thought that I could figure this out seems a bit absurd. Since by definition God is so much smarter than I am, it is unlikely I could have more than even a rudimentary understanding of how He did it. People get pretty passionate about the subject though.

    I certainly agree with the “if we are not being persecuted, marginalized, or ridiculed we probably aren’t doing it right.”

Leave a Reply

