Temptation in the Wilderness

You know the story of Jesus’ temptation in the wilderness.  Matthew Chapter 4.  Now I don’t want you to get the idea that calling what follows is doctrine.  Lets just say that something got stuck in my head that might be interesting to think about.

It’s generally accepted doctrine that Jesus in His life on this earth was at the same time fully God and fully man.  So think about this.  What if Jesus as fully man was not sure of His deity.  Sounds like heresy and maybe it is.  But consider this.  I had always thought that Satan was unsure if Jesus was the One.  So when he said, “If  you are the Son of God…” he was saying ‘Come on.  Convince me.’  At the same time he was offering Jesus a short cut, a way around the cross.  But maybe there’s more.  Maybe he was saying, “Do you believe you are the Son of God?  Come on.  Convince yourself.”  Suddenly the enormity of what Jesus did rises to a new level.  Could it be that in addition to all the things Jesus fought through and endured He also had to deal with…  doubt?

Now you can tear that up and throw it away if you like.  It may not mean anything.  Unless you want to apply it to us, to our doubts.

Jesus said that if we believe we are born again.  Paul said that if we are in Christ we are new creatures.  John said we would be like Him.  Peter said we were once not a people but now we are the people of God, a chosen generation, a royal priesthood.  And again Paul said this:

I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer who live, but Christ lives in me;

and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me

and gave Himself for me.

We have doubts.  Doubts that God will heal, that He will provide.  We worry about doubts that snip at us.  Is there a God?  Was Jesus really His Son?  We think these are the big ones.  But we overlook the really big doubt, the doubt that defeats us, that makes us weak and ineffective.  We doubt that we are new creatures, that we have been born again, that Christ lives in us.  And because of that doubt we draw back.  We fail to act.  We do not live up to our capabilities.

If Jesus had fallen prey to doubts He would not have completed the mission He was called to.  If we doubt that we are new creatures, doubt that He lives in us, doubt that something supernatural happened when we believed, we will fall short of the fullness of what He has called us to.

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

