Revelation Song

We sang Revelation Song in worship last Sunday.  Troy read from Revelation before we sang:

 

I heard a loud voice of a great multitude in heaven, saying

“Alleluia.  Salvation and glory and honor and power to the Lord our God”

And the four and twenty elders and the four living creatures fell down and

worshiped God who sat on the throne, saying, “Amen! Alleluia!”

And I heard, as it were, the voice of a great multitude, as the sound of

many waters and as the sound of mighty thunderings, saying, “Alleluia!

For the Lord God Omnipotent reigns!”

 

I must confess I had one of those stray thoughts that interrupt sometimes.  I wondered why God  would create all these creatures just to praise Him, to worship Him, to extoll His worthiness.  Is He arrogant?  Is He insecure?  Does He need to be told how great He is?  I don’t think so.  He does not need our praise.  He was God when there was nothing else but Him.  He doesn’t need our worship.  We cannot add anything to Him.  He is complete without us.

So why are we called to worship and praise Him?  Why all of this worship and glorification and praise in the book of Revelation?  I have no doubt that it will all happen because it’s in the Bible.  But what’s it for?

I am convinced we are called to worship, not for Him, but for us.  The Revelation accounts of worship are for us, not for Him, because we need to know how big He is.  We need to be reminded of who He is because the fog of daily life masks His true nature.  Distractions confuse us, daily tribulations drag on us, the lies of the enemy defeat us till we can no longer see just how big He is.

So we need to come back to the Revelation account.  We need to raise our hands in worship.  We need to sing that Revelation Song to be reminded of who God is.  He is not a philosopher.  He is not a politician.  He is not a movie star or a recording star who will be big today and gone tomorrow.  He is God.

He doesn’t need to be reminded of that but we do.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Revelation Song

  1. manoahswife says:

    You have no idea how timely this is. As the plumbing is backing up in our house at this moment, I can sing with a full heart: “Holy, Holy, Holy, is the Lord God Almighty.” He is God, and you have reminded me that no matter what the circumstances, He has not changed. And I will worship.

    • Angus Lewis says:

      Plumbing problems drive me crazy. Satan knows his business. He takes a day that was supposed to be enjoyed and turns it into something else.
      But we know his devices and his intent. Hang in there. I’ll pray for you.

  2. aplogansr says:

    God bless you. Worship and being in His presence…Is all I’ve had to hold me together as I walked through one trial after another. God IS faithful no matter what it looks like.

    Andrew Logan, author of Plugging Into Real Worship and Conectándose a la adoración verdadera

  3. manoahswife says:

    You are right–thankfully we know his devices and his intent. We appreciate your prayers!

Leave a Reply

