Making Contact – Epilog

Mr. Hansen could see that the lights were on and the blinds were open in the computer center when he turned into the parking lot. He was glad because that would mean that there would be someone to share the good news with. He parked his car and walked to the front door whistling an old Beatles tune. His first impression when he opened the door was that there was no one home.

“Hello, anybody home?” He heard a rustling sound. Two thin legs garbed in plain black slacks had begun to appear from under the main console desk. They were attached to a torso clad in a plain white blouse. The figure rolled over and sat up. It was Jan. At least it looked like Jan. Same unimaginative clothes, same short, unstylish haircut. But there was something different. Even though there was nothing outwardly changed about her, there was something vaguely attractive about her. Mr. Hansen struggled to figure out what it was. Oh yes. She was smiling. A confident, calm, peaceful smile.

“Jan. You stuck it out. I didn’t think you would. Well, I’ve got good news for you, great news really. They’ve restored the funding. We’re back in business. In two weeks this place will be crawling with scientists and engineers. Isn’t that great?”

Jan’s smile grew wider. “I’m fine Mr. Hansen. And how are you?”

Jan’s response slowed Mr. Hansen’s enthusiasm momentarily. This was not the Jan he remembered. “Oh, sorry. How are you Jan? What have you been doing the past three years? Found any aliens?”

The smile broke into a grin. Who knew she had dimples?

“Mr. Hansen, have I got a story for you.”

 

Apology and Explanation

I wrote this twelve to fifteen years ago.  I drug it out and posted it on a whim.  I like the characters. I like Jan and Bill and Mr. Hansen and the director not so much. I wrote this for a little informal writing class I was taking.  It was a good exercise in character creating and story telling but it has some problems, I guess you could say from a theological perspective.

First let me say I don’t for a moment believe Jesus went around the universe sacrificing Himself multiple times.  It just doesn’t seem right does it?  Jesus and the disciples begin to sound like the road company of a Broadway show.  No, I think there was only one sacrifice.

If that’s true there are implications that are terrifying in their importance.  If there was only one sacrifice and it was for us then the whole of God’s grand design hinges on us.  We are it.  There’s not another race waiting in the wings.  He put all His chickens in one basket.  There is no plan B.  He bet the farm on us.  (Okay that’s enough with the cliches.)   Now we know that it’s not really our doing but still it’s a staggering thought.  It makes you (or it makes me) consider:  How can I take salvation lightly?  How can I treat His grace frivolously?  How can I allow the new creation in me to be camouflaged by the meaningless minutia of this life?  How can I when He has invested everything in me?

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Short Story, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Making Contact – Epilog

  1. manoahswife says:

    There may indeed be other peoples in this vast universe that God created, but you are right, it all hinges on us. A very sobering thought–only one sacrifice for only one people. I believe it is time for the church to “wake up and smell the coffee.” This was a great story. I am very glad that you posted it.

Leave a Reply

