Super 8

I don’t have a number one favorite movie.  I have an ever changing loosely defined collection of favorites.  If you held a gun to my head and made me name a number one it would probably be ET.  I had read some about Super 8 and I was a little afraid it would turn out to be nothing more than an ET remake.

We saw Super 8 Saturday (in thundering eye popping IMAX) and I can assure it is not just an ET remake.  It has some of the elements, some similarities but it is it’s own movie.  And it’s every bit as good as ET.  The best I can say about it is that ten minutes (or less) into the movie I had forgotten the actors were actors.  I had forgotten I was watching it on IMAX.  I was completely immersed in the story.  You can’t say anything better about a movie.

I’ve read that some didn’t think much of the alien.  What they don’t realize is that the movie is not about the alien.  ET was not about the alien and LOST was not about the smoke monster.  ET and LOST and Super 8 are about people. They are classic story telling.  You meet people and get to know them.  They go through some things and they are changed by what they experience.  Alien movies and monster movies are just exercises in special effects unless you really know the people involved, unless you really buy in.  Spielberg and Abrams both know how to tell a story, how to create characters you care about.

Here is where I launch into a pet peeve of mine: how we look at the Bible.  We forget that Peter, James, and John, that Matthew, that Moses and Jacob and Joshua were real people.  We look for theology, for doctrine, for sermon texts and rules to live by and we overlook the struggles they went through, the lives they lived, the profound changes that Jesus brought about in their lives.  And maybe our struggles are greater because we don’t see them as real people.

But here’s the thing.  Maybe we find ourselves categorizing the people around us by their theology, their doctrine, by their actions based on an approved list we have carefully chosen from a cafeteria line of behaviors gleaned from the Bible.  Maybe we should see them as people first instead of theological positions or doctrinal understandings.

“Hold on.  I thought this was about Super 8.”

“Well you know.”

“Know what?”

“Sometimes he gets a little carried away.”

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Movies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

