Jennifer Aniston

This has nothing to do with Jennifer Aniston.  Well very little anyway.

Yesterday I wrote a little story about an astronaut with dead batteries.  I can’t tell you how satisfying that was.

When I was posting pretty much every day I sometimes latched onto an idea or topic during my twenty-five mile journey to work.  Now I’m trying to get back to as close to every day as I can and I get a little anxious if I get to work and I don’t have an idea yet.

But here’s the thing.  It doesn’t have to be much of an idea.  Yesterday it was ‘the batteries were dead.’  That’s all.  Now I’m not trying to tell you that my superior intellect or creativity or writing skill is responsible for that wonderful gem of a story (okay I’m joking here).  It just sort of happened.  You get an idea, a sentence, a word and somewhere somehow a story grows out of it.  It’s amazing.  I get an idea and by the time I get to work the story is done.  It still takes work to get all the words right but the essentials are there.

It’s satisfying and it feels like what I should be doing.

I wonder if when God finished creating the heavens and the earth He got this crooked little grin on His face.  Not that He was proud in the sense that we get puffed up about something we did but that it just felt good to create.  To do what He is.  We all have these things we have to do but if in the midst of working our job, cleaning the house, cutting the grass we can find little slices of time to do what we are, we will be satisfied.  It feels good to do what we were made to do.

Now about Jennifer Aniston.  Day before yesterday I had Steven Spielberg and J. J. Abrams in the title of my post.  I got 31 hits.  Yesterday the title was Multiple Redundancies and I got maybe, what, 12 hits?  So I’m trying a little experiment here.  I promise this is the only time I’ll do this.  I know Jennifer is not the latest hoty.  It’s probably that girl on something called Gossip Girl (?) who had what was purported to be neked pictures of her posted on the internet.  Hotness is not about looks.  It’s about publicity.

But I’m old and Jennifer Aniston is the one that came to mind.  Really at my age I’m surprised it’s not somebody like Kim Novak.

Anyway I’m just curious.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Jennifer Aniston

  1. manoahswife says:

    For maximum effect, you might also add her name to your tags. I hear that’s the way people find things on WordPress. Not that I know that for sure, mind you. . . Will be interested to find out the results of your research. I can never figure out what the “magic bullet” is myself. Seems so completely random sometimes.

    • Angus Lewis says:

      Nine hits so far. I’m afraid poor Jennifer is no longer hot to those who decide such things.

      Chasing hits is probably a thankless task, something that could divert me from what I really want to do. Still it’s good to know how to attract attention. You’re right. Tags do help.

  2. manoahswife says:

    You are right. Chasing hits is a big distraction; not worth the effort. Besides, it never really tells you if someone actually read the post, or if they even liked it. Rest assured, I always read your posts, whether I comment or not. . .:-)

Leave a Reply

