I Don’t Want to Talk About It

Boy I hate to talk about this.

When we last saw our intrepid travelers through history they were about to experience a cataclysm. Two hundred thousand were going to heaven. The rest were going to suffer. Forever.

That was last Friday. It was supposed to happen on Saturday. It didn’t.

I drive by one of those billboards every morning. I wish they would take them down but they probably won’t. I wonder if one day I’ll pass by and see that there is a big red ‘X’ through the 21st and the 25th written over it. Then later May would be crossed out and June written in. Then sometime later maybe the whole thing would be crossed out and written over it would be ‘Well we don’t know exactly when but it WILL happen someday.’

And that’s the thing. It will happen someday. And even if it doesn’t in your lifetime, if you die before it happens, the result will be the same. Some will go to heaven. Some will suffer. The two hundred thousand figure sounds low to me considering the number of people who have ever lived. People who make these predictions seem to make the requirements for heaven pretty severe. The Bible says the requirement is believing, just believing.

I’ve had a tough time thinking about blogging the last few days. I’ve hit a roadblock. I thought I had written about the book Reading Jesus sometime back but I can’t find it right now. Anyway I wanted to write something about how my views differed from the author’s. I feel strongly that I need to do that and I think I’m going to have to do that before I can go on to anything else. The thing is that’s going to take more than a thirty minute stream of consciousness ramble. It’s going to take some reading and thought to get it done right.

That’s the bad part of blogging. It’s easy to just ramble, just do quick hits, just put something out there. I don’t want to get artificially ‘deep’ or heavy handed. At the same time I think it’s too easy to not blogging, and writing, seriously. I think that’s a mistake.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

