Slip Sliding Away

I’m sitting here at work, early, nobody here but me, and I’m watching Paul Simon on YouTube.  Slip Sliding Away.  I also watched Simon and Garfunkel, the same song.  The same but different.  Simon’s stuff is stripped down, personal, less orchestrated, more acoustic.  Listen to the Simon version of  The Sound of Silence.  The message of the song comes through loud and clear.  Chilling.

Oh but the harmony of Simon and Garfunkel.  They say Simon was the talented one.  He went on to write and perform a vast collection of great songs.  I love all of them.  But Art Garfunkel is talented.  I love the Simon and Garfunkel stuff just as much as the later Simon solo stuff.  They meshed perfectly.  To realize the talent of Art Garfunkel you have to listen to Bridge Over Troubled Waters, the duo version.  Then listen to the Simon solo version.  I can’t find it on YouTube but I’ve got it somewhere on a Paul Simon collection.  It’s ugly.  Paul wrote it but it’s Art’s song.

Back to Slip Sliding Away.  Here’s the last verse:

Whoah God only knows, God makes his plan
The information’s unavailable to the mortal man
We’re workin’ our jobs, collect our pay
Believe we’re gliding down the highway, when in fact we’re slip sliding away

First I wonder where the insight comes from.  I doubt that either one of them ever actually punched a time clock.

But here’s the real point.  We like to think we know what God is doing.  We are in communication with Him.  We are spiritual people, aren’t we?  We pray.  God speaks to us.  We know His plan.  But the truth is He doesn’t share it all with us.  He says to me, “Just trust Me.”  and that’s all.  And I have to trust Him to work things out.

We don’t know His plan but we know His nature.  We know His love.  We know what He has said.

He says, “I know the plans I have for you, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.”

We don’t know the specifics.  We don’t know next year or next week or tomorrow but We know Him.  And that’s enough.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slip Sliding Away

  1. manoahswife says:

    Amen! Knowing His character and His love gives us the foundation for our faith and it is never misplaced. I have come to the conclusion that I am grateful God never tells me all of His plans. For one, I could not comprehend it, but, two–it might scare the livin’ daylights out of me. Some things are better grown into slowly! 🙂

Leave a Reply

