Four Things I Know

Sometimes life gets confusing.  Sometimes things don’t go right.  They don’t go right and you think ‘Why is this happening?  What does it mean?  Does anything mean anything?  What can I depend on anymore?’

Some time ago I was going through turmoil.  In that season of confusion God spoke to me and said, “What do you know?”  Here’s what came out of that.

  • There is a God

Once you cross the divide between intellectual argument of whether there is a god or not and step into that realm of knowing the eternal and unchangeable God it’s hard to see it any other way.  As the Bible says, the heavens declare His handiwork.  Scientists spend their lives searching for the fundamental laws that govern the universe.  The universe beyond our small planet seems to be chaos but they search on for those fundamental forces that make everything work.  And indeed there are laws that have been proven to be unalterably consistent.  GPS devices could not locate us so accurately unless a correction factor for relativity was not included.  Electronics work on the basis of equations that are based on the laws of quantum physics.  Earth orbit would be virtually impossible if the law of gravity was not always consistent.

Why would we expect there to be unalterable laws that govern the universe unless there was an intelligence behind it all?  The scientific search for fundamental laws is in a sense the search for God.

  • God loves me

The Bible makes it clear that God loves me.  He says, ‘I have loved you with an everlasting love.’  Jesus said, “For God so loved the world…”.

More than that I can testify to the love of God in my life.  Knowing the horrible things I’ve done and said and thought over the course of my life I can only attribute the blessings I’ve had to the abundant grace and love of God.  That is a non-negotiable, unalterable fact.

God loves me.

Given those two facts we can know that whatever we face, whatever people have said about our future, whatever Satan says to us…  We can know that it’s not over till it’s over.  No matter how bleak the future looks, no matter how inevitable the outcome looks, it’s not over till God says it’s over.

  • God loves me enough to send His Son to die for me

Why do I know this?  You can read a lot of books that make a solid logical case for the accuracy of the Bible accounts of His birth, his ministry, His death and resurrection.  But that’s not why I can know He died for me.  Sure we can get in an especially intense worship service and feel His presence but the assurance I have is the small voice I hear from time to time in times when I need to hear Him and in unexpected times when I’m not expecting to hear from Him.  God is not in the earthquake or the storm.  He is in the still small voice.

  • God has something He wants me to do

I wonder sometimes if maybe God has put each of us here for a specific purpose, that our actions or words at one moment in time is what we are here for.  But of course we don’t know which moment is the one so we serve Him as best we can all the time.  That way we will accomplish His mission for us when the moment comes.

Satan’s mission is to make us feel hopeless, despairing, worthless, to think our lives have no meaning.  When things go wrong, when our lives are in chaos it’s tempting to fall into the trap Satan has set for us and think there is no meaning to any of this.  But God has a word for us.  Our lives mean something to Him.  He has a purpose for us.  Every moment of every day has meaning in the eyes of God.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Christianity. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

