Ernie Kovacs

They announced the release of a set of DVDs of the surviving works of Ernie Kovacs the other day.  I have distant memories of him.  He did TV in the early days, fifties and into the early sixties.  He was inspiration for Laugh In, Saturday Night Live, Johnny Carson, Rocky and Bullwinkle and many others.  Inspired insanity.  People like Letterman, Leno, and Conan continue in the same vein.

Googling Ernie somehow brought back other memories.  We bought a Betamax in the early days of video.  We had to go all the way from North Little Rock to western Little Rock to find someplace to rent movies.  I remember one video that only had two shorts on it.  One was Hardware Wars, a sendup of Star Wars where the space vehicles were household appliances.  The Star Destroyer was a steam iron.

The other was Bambi vs. Godzilla.  An arty black and white cartoon Bambi is grazing in a field as the credits roll when…  Well watch it if you dare.

I told my wife about this and she said, “You’re sick.”  But I don’t think so.  I’m just a guy and for the most part guys think this stuff is hilarious (think Mad Magazine).

The calendar says I’m sixty-six but this video tells me there’s still a twelve year old in there somewhere.  And for that I’m thankful.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ernie Kovacs

  1. Posky says:

    Up until just now, I thought Kovacs played baseball.

    Bamby and Godzilla was a perfect fit. How did this avoid winning an Oscar?

    • Angus Lewis says:

      You’re right. Tragic, arty, classical music. I think you could say there’s irony in there somewhere. How could it miss? Probably the animal rights people.

  2. manoahswife says:

    For my husband it is the “Three Stooges”. I am not sure that I will clue him up on your recommendations. It has to be “a guy thing” as most of us women just shake our heads. That’s o.k. women have their own brand of the same thing. We call them “chick flicks”. I have to take those in small batches too–just like the “Three Stooges”. My husband has a great sense of humor though–for which I am grateful. He has needed it being married to me for all of these years! 🙂

    • Angus Lewis says:

      Sometimes inspired lunacy is the only thing that keeps me sane given the insanity that is life.
      I can handle a chick flick now and then but my wife just doesn’t understand guy humor.

Leave a Reply

