Missing

Now I’ll never catch up.

We went back home last Friday to help my son put together one of those backyard play-gym things.  Eight to fourteen hours the instructions say.  It took two and a half day, about twenty hours.  Only three trips to Lowes.  I consider that a rousing success.  It usually takes me three trips a day for even the smallest project.

It was a fun project, tiring but fun.  I enjoyed having the time together with my son.  And Grant (the grandson) loves it.  I’ll post some pictures as soon as I get time to transfer them from the camera.

I’ve got this thing on my plate about that book, Reading Jesus, that I want to get to.  I have a lot of thoughts about what Mary Gordon wrote that I don’t want to get away from me.  But while we were home visiting family my son-in-law started talking about this other book, Love Wins, that a lot of people are wound up about.  Seems that the author, Rob Bell, believes there’s no hell and that everybody will get into heaven.  I’ve got a lot to say about that.

It strikes me that I’ve got a lot to say about a lot of things these days.  I hope I’m not becoming one of those ‘old people’ that inflicts his opinion on anybody that he can trap in his web.  I’m not a educated theologian.  There’s probably a lot of people who have read more than I have, a lot of people who pray more than I do.  But I do have my thoughts.

I think there are a lot of things we are very sure of that we may have completely wrong.  I don’t want to portray myself as an authority on the Bible, on the afterlife, on much of anything.  Still there are some ideas that you would have to take a pair of scissors to the Bible to make them line up.

Anyway maybe I’ll find the time to expound at length on these topics in the next few days.  Now is that something to look forward to?

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Books, Christianity, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Missing

  1. jeffwisdom says:

    I’ve got one of those backyard playgrounds sitting in pieces in my garage right now. This doesn’t instill much confidence in me that I’ll get it together this weekend.

  2. Angus Lewis says:

    It’s definitely a two man job. The last bolt was 4″ long and we had to line up five holes to get it in place and thread it into one of those hammer in tee nuts. I stood at one end of the swing assembly and wiggled things around while my son tried to get the bolt in place.

    It was fun. We felt like we really accomplished something.

  3. manoahswife says:

    My husband and father-in-law put one of those together for my daughter when she was small. It took them 3 days and he almost “lost his religion” over the whole experience. The directions even said “Easy assembly”. I came away from that understanding that when a man (or men) will put together a swing set for a child, this is a measure of true love for his wife and child: not flowers, not chocolates, not jewelry. Putting together a swing set is something that “tries mens souls”. So glad that you found it a fun experience!

    • Angus Lewis says:

      It was tiring and frustrating at times but the good part was getting to work together with my son. That was satisfying.

      They ought to pull people from marketing or accounting and give them the kit and the instructions. Maybe the instructions would be more clear. These were pretty good though. There are places where they should have (in big letters) ‘Watch out. It’s easy to mess up here.’
      The worst is when you get to step eighteen and find out you did step three wrong. That’s when you get out the drill and start improvising.

Leave a Reply

