Disappointment

Before I get to my disappointment…

Yesterday my blog was featured on WordPress.  Not Freshly Pressed.  No it was a little deeper than that.  You had to click on Popular Tags, then click on writing.  A link to my post was about halfway down on the left side of the first page.  (This sounds vaguely like something from a Steve Martin movie.)  The First Page.  How about that?  It was only there an hour or two but I got the second and third highest views ever.  I don’t know how blogs get picked for those things.  Probably completely random.  But I can imagine the consternation in the WordPress world.  They probably never have face to face meetings but they may have for this.

“Who is responsible for this?  This blog post, I Was Just Wondering, showed up on the first page under ‘writing’.  And it’s totally inane.  It’s vapid.  It’s…  It’s drivel.”

“Drivel.”

“Vapid.”

“Inane and vapid.”

“Inane and vapid drivel.”

“We need to launch an investigation.  We need to find out who’s responsible.  We have to see to it that this never happens again.”

“Yes, an investigation.”

“Never happen again.”

“Drivel.”

Anyway my fifteen seconds of fame are done.

 

I’ve been thinking that I need to read something purely entertaining, something that doesn’t make me think too much.  I had two in mind:

This is a collection of three stories, Beat to Quarters, Ship of the Line, and Flying Colors.  It’s about my favorite fictional character, a British sea captain in the Napoleonic era.

I guess this would be called young adult fiction.  It’s the story of a young boy growing up on a horse ranch in Wyoming in the 1930’s.  It’s actually a trilogy: My Friend Flicka, Thunderhead, and Green Grass of Wyoming.  There’s more to it than a children’s story, especially in Thunderhead.  Husband grown distant because he’s trying to keep the ranch alive, wife from New England who’s feeling lonely and homesick.  The three stories are well written and have some depth to them.  They were made into movies in the 1950’s.  The boy was played by Roddy McDowall, a Wyoming kid with a British accent.  I was hoping somebody would decide to remake them.  Somebody did but the boy was a girl.  I haven’t seen it but I’m guessing it wasn’t the stories I love.

Now for the disappointment.  I have a nook e reader and I’ve grown attached to it.  I went looking for these books and apparently they have not been done in e-book form.  How can that be?  What do we do about this?  Who do we complain to?  Something must be done about this!  We need to have a meeting.

 

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Books, Movies, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Disappointment

  1. manoahswife says:

    I have had my “15 seconds of fame” several times for the tag surfer “Christianity”. The only thing I can figure out is that when new posts are put up with that tag, they go to the first page until the next new posts come along. I have started out on the front page and found my self progressing to continuing back pages as the day goes by until I am on about page 32. Go figure! Don’t think you have to worry about the “vapid, inane, or drivel” tags though. I have no difficulty seeing you on “Freshly Pressed”!

    • Angus Lewis says:

      It’s a little disconcerting at first. I want to get some looks but when it happens I start thinking back over the things I’ve posted. “What have I said? Who have I offended?”

  2. jeffwisdom says:

    I would consider time on ‘Freshly Pressed’ to be the pinnacle of my blogging career. I’m just afraid I would let it go to my head, and I’d start signing all my blogs as “Freshly Pressed Blogger Jeff Wisdom”.

    • Angus Lewis says:

      I look but I don’t expect to ever happen to me. I don’t know their criterion. Is it the number of looks? Or is it kind of random? I’ve seen blogs get on two days in a row.

Leave a Reply

