I Saw Satan Fall – Chapter Five

It was a small group that met in the clearing, only twenty or so.  They talked quietly among themselves till Lucifer stepped out of the shadows.  Silence invaded the meeting place.

“Thank you for coming.  You know the situation.  He has already created this temporal concoction He calls the universe.”

One member of the group spoke.  “ Looks like just so much chaos and confusion to me.  Clever but hardly worth the trouble”

“I agree.  But you know what He’s like.  He has a plan.  He always has a plan.  And from my point of view it cannot be in our best interest.”

“Just what is His plan?”

“Here is what I’ve been able to glean from His ramblings.  In all that mess of particles and spinning rocks there’s one particular rock that is special to Him.  On that rock He will create life.  He will create creatures that have a soul.  I know I’m throwing out terms that have no meaning to us.  I have only a vague idea of what they mean and I don’t know that I can put them into words.  We’ll understand them better when we see the reality of them if it gets that far.

“One version of these creatures will have something extra.  They will not only have a physical body and a soul but they will also have a spirit.  In that respect they will be like Him.  They will be able to commune with Him in a way we cannot.  These puny temporal creatures will be of a higher order than we are.  They will supplant us.  That is His plan.  He means to make us…”  Here he paused and looked around at his gathered lieutenants.  “…Inferior.”

“But we won’t let it get that far.  We have a plan too.  We have managed to get at least one third of the angels around to our point of view.  With that many voices on our side He will have to give us an audience.  He can’t turn that large a contingent away.  We will demand to be heard.  We will demand that He reconsider His plan.  He will have to consider a compromise, to allow us some input.  If we can get Him to compromise once we can begin to little by little chip away at His master plan.  A compromise here, a compromise there, and soon we will have our way.

 

Copyright © 2011 by Angus B. Lewis
All rights reserved

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Short Story, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

