I Saw Satan Fall – Chapter Three

The room was filled with the hum of conversation as the three hundred or so present exchanged pleasantries.  Lucifer broke away from his circle and made his way to the front.  He raised his voice so as to be heard above the babble.

“If I could have your attention.”  The voices gradually subsided.

“Thank you for coming.  I think I’ve talked to each of you individually so I don’t need to go over again the situation we find ourselves in.  But I wanted to get us all together to discuss what steps we should take to avert the catastrophe we see ahead.  I also wanted us all to realize that we are not few, we who see the danger in the path the Holy One has laid out.”

One creature near the front spoke up.  “I hope you aren’t advocating a power play.  That would be kind of silly.”

“Power play?”

“You know.  A show of force.  Strength in numbers.  An ultimatum.”

Lucifer’s face clouded with a frown.  For a brief second his eyes glowed with anger.  Then he calmed and smiled.  “No, of course not.  What I have in mind is more along the lines of wise council.  There is wisdom in the voice of many councilors.”  He paused to add emphasis.  “Councilors who are of one voice.”

An anonymous voice spoke from near the back of the room.  “So what do you think we should do?”

“We need more voices.  We have in this room a collection of leaders, of influential voices who can bring others into the conversation.  That’s why I came to you, because you can speak to others and increase our numbers.  He will have to give consideration to our council if we can build support for our viewpoint.”

“So I want you to talk to others, to those you have influence over, and bring them into our coalition.  We want as many as we can bring in.  But choose carefully.  We don’t want to create conflict.  We are not trying to cause division.  But we all need to do our part to try to avert this mistake.”

 

Copyright © 2011 by Angus B. Lewis
All rights reserved

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Short Story, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

