I Saw Satan Fall – Chapter Two

“What did He say?”

“You know how it is, Gabriel.  It’s never in so many words.  It’s more like impressions, an understanding of what He wants you to know, what He wants get across to you.”

Gabriel nodded helpfully.

“You know all of this is not real.”  He cast his eyes around at their surroundings.  “It’s a convenience, not an environment we need because we are spirit just like Him.  But what He has planned now is a physical reality. “

Gabriel’s brow knitted in confusion.

“I know, I know.  Physical reality doesn’t mean anything to us, does it?  Just words.  But it means something to Him.  This physical reality will be something unheard of, spectacular.  A riot of His creative energy.  It seems violent, destructive, chaotic but I know it won’t be because it’s His.  It’s Him.  More than anything He has ever done this is Him.  That much I got.”

“But that’s not the end of it.  If that was all I wouldn’t be concerned.   Another manifestation of the mind of God.  I would welcome it.  But this creation is only a means to another creation He has in mind, only an incubation ground for something else.

“Understand the deeper I go into this the more vague my comprehension is.  But what I do understand is that He will populate this creation with creatures, creatures that are made in His image.  I have no idea what that means.  But there it is.  In His image.  And are you ready for the next revelation?”

Gabriel nodded politely.

“They will have a relationship with Him.  He will commune with them.  I don’t think it could be said that He communes with us.  They will be closer to Him than we are.  And what’s more we will serve them.”

He sat back and looked at Gabriel waiting for his response.  Gabriel smiled gently.  “I see.  Very interesting.”

“I’m not finished.  There’s one more thing.  The most shocking of all.  They will be given the power to choose, to choose whether they will obey Him or go their own way.  They will be…”  He paused to make sure his words, and their implication, would be clearly understood.  “ …completely free.”

He sat back waiting for Gabriel’s reaction.  Gabriel looked at him and said, “Well that’s very interesting.  Certainly exciting.  Unprecedented I would say.”

“Is that all you can say?  Aren’t you concerned?”

“No, I wouldn’t say I’m concerned.  Are you?”

“Well yes.  I don’t think He’s thought this through.  I think He needs our advice.  This could end in disaster.”

“I think we can be assured that whatever the outcome He has foreseen it.   I don’t think we need to worry.  What do think needs to be done?”

“We’ve got to stop Him.  We’ve got to change His mind.  Something’s got to be done.  If you’re not concerned about it I am.  And I intend to do something about it.”

“I wouldn’t if I were you.  After all Lucifer, He is God.”

Copyright © 2011 by Angus B. Lewis
All rights reserved

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Short Story, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

