I Think Too Much

You ever want to just turn your brain off?  I do.  One thought leads to another leads to another and leads to another.  Those thoughts usually coalesce into some kind of essay or article, concocted and structured completely inside my head.  Nowadays that will lead to a blog post, sometimes a post that the internet would be better off without.  It would be nice to turn it off once in a while.

I think the best way to turn it off is to sit down in front of the TV with remote in hand and nothing to watch.  Cycle through the channels looking for something to hold your interest.  If you find something you stick with it till the next commercial and then move on.  An average  channel change every five seconds or so works best.  I wrote a story about that a while back.  I’ll try to dig it up.

I spent two nights in Cleveland last week, two nights alone in a hotel room.  That’s a good opportunity for some mindless channel surfing.  (At home my wife frowns on it.)  Stay away from the adult stuff.  That kind of mindlessness you don’t need.  The second night I stumbled on the latest Robin Hood movie, the one with Russell Crowe.  That was plenty of mindlessness without having to channel surf.  Why did they bother?  I guess anybody will do anything if you throw money at them.

How would you make a Robin Hood movie, make it new and fresh?  You could give it a modern setting.  If you did the villain would probably be some big corporation.  We tend the cheer the little guy who makes good.  For a while.  After you’ve been successful for a while people start seeing you as bad and they go looking for the next little guy success story.  Big is not necessarily bad.  It takes a lot of discipline to keep from abusing power once you have it.  But big does not have to be bad.

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Movies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

