Just Showing Up… Another Quote

“Ninety percent of life is just showing up.”  Woody Allen

It seems to me that this quote has been attributed to somebody other than Woody Allen.  I don’t know.  It sounds too familiar.  And it just doesn’t sound like him.

You think that’s true?  I think I’ll go to work tomorrow and do nothing all day.  If my boss says something to me about it I’ll say, “Hey, I showed up, didn’t I?”  No I don’t think I’ll do that.

You can just show up and happen to be in the right place at the right time and be a big winner.  But you’re just as likely to be in the wrong place at the wrong time.  No, I think if you’re going to make anything of your life you’ve got to do more than just show up.  It starts there.  You have to at least show up.  But you have to show up ready to go to work.

This post is an attempt at starting with a bare thought and seeing where will lead.  Nowhere.  That’s where.  Oh well.  It was worth a try.

I’ve been reading over some of my ramblings from years gone by.  Some of it is okay.  Some maybe not.  But it is interesting how so many of those began with a single idea, something that could be spelled out in one short sentence.  It’s interesting how a single thought can grow into maybe not a novel but at least a serviceable short story.  The process of that is so hidden from me that it almost seems like I was not involved.  And I can’t help but think ‘What if it never happens again?’  Sometimes I think ‘What’s the point of this?  Nobody will see it.’  but the truth is that the experience of doing it, of writing, of (can I say it?) being used is enough in itself.

Enough rambling.  In a couple of days I’ll start posting chapters in another short story.  I’m going to try that about once a month.  I’ve got a enough of them scattered on my hard drive to do a few months.  I guess I need to be getting some others ready.

I’ve got this idea.  There’s this book, How To Write a Short Story.  And there’s this guy who’s reading the book and trying to write a short story.  The story (maybe) would be about the book, about his story, and about what happens to him.  That’s all I’ve got so far.  Sounds silly.  May not go anywhere.  But I’ll never know if I don’t…  show up.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Quotations, Short Story, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

