You Know It Ain’t Easy

Here’s how uneducated I am about all things Beatles. I thought that line was a George Harrison tune.  I Googled ‘You know it’s not easy’ (didn’t even get that right) and I got some singer named Liz Phair.  Then I did ‘They’re going to crucify me’ and I got lyrics to The Ballad of John and Yoko.  So it was all about John and Yoko on the run from the media and how they broke up the greatest band of all time.  That’s okay.  It’s still a pretty good tune, catchy, clever.  I don’t like the thing about using Christ as an expletive though.

I wasn’t into the Beatles that much at the time.  Looking back I can see that they were really good, maybe great.  Their music changed, they grew as artists, they didn’t sit still.  I give them high marks for that.  But the greatest of all time?  I don’t think there is any such thing.  Not in music or movies or books or sports or anything.  There may be a top five or ten or twenty but not a number one.  But there is this about the Beatles.  They may have been the most influential of all time.  For better and worse they may have been the most influential.

So why did I start looking for ‘You know it’s not easy’?  Oh yeah.  Yesterday’s post got me to thinking about where these post ideas come from.  That one had been stuck in my head for a long time.  There are others buried in there, hiding in some fold of my cortex, waiting to grab me by the throat and drag me to the keyboard.  They seem so simple, so laid out and ready.  Sure, it’ll be just like taking dictation.  But it’s never that easy. (You know it ain’t easy.  Now do you get the connection?)  There is always a struggle.  Sometimes fairly easy, sometime incredibly difficult but never just dictation.  But when it’s over I know it’s not mine.  I know I was just a willing participant.

It makes me think of sports.  People get upset when an athlete thanks God when he wins the championship.  They say, “So God made the other guy lose?”  I don’t see it that way.  I understand what the winner is saying.  Anything good that comes out of me is God’s doing.  The bad stuff is my fault.

I would like to say that I see God as the author and me as just a willing participant.  The truth is that I would really like to be a celebrated author who goes on book tours where SRO crowds hang on my every word.  Sometimes I get carried away with my words.  There was a phrase in a previous post (Best Seller – Conclusion) that I am in love with.  The metronome flash of neon in the rain soaked parking lot. It fairly trips off the tongue.  I wanted to say ‘the puddled parking lot’ but I thought that was too much.  They say if you are in love with a particular sentence or phrase you should strike it because it will stick out and damage the flow of the story.  But I couldn’t.  I just couldn’t.

So yes I can get all puffed up with pride over my work.  But the real reason I want others to read my post is because it moves me, not because I wrote it.  That post about Paul writing the end of Romans Chapter eight, it took some work, yes, but not a lot.  The really amazing this about it is the idea and I don’t know where that came from.  One of the things I do is kind of a dramatization of scripture but this one took one passage and pasted it over the span of Paul’s apostolic life.  I don’t know where that came from.

Well, yes I do.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You Know It Ain’t Easy

  1. manoahswife says:

    And I know where it came from too. It is why I keep reading. Looking forward to the next dramatization.

Leave a Reply

