Foolishness is Underrated

To continue where I left off yesterday…

You know the saying.  There are no dumb ideas.  That’s the mantra.  It’s a brainstorming session.  Throw anything out there.  Think outside the box.  It may sound dumb but it may trigger a thought in somebody else that may lead to another idea that may lead to another idea that may lead to something.  That works not only in brainstorming sessions.  It works in every day life.  Unfortunately there are some cultures where brainstorming, outside the box, dumb ideas are jumped on and beaten down, where any opportunity to belittle or ridicule is taken up with relish.  Creativity and  innovation are seen as threats that must be eradicated.  And the group suffers for it.

As you have probably already surmised I am the one with the dumb idea.  In my exuberance, my enthusiasm to get something accomplished sometimes I say or do dumb things.  People jump on that.  I jump on that.  I jump on myself.  As a matter of fact I do more jumping than anybody.  I may be the only one who’s doing the jumping.  I’m hard on myself.

I wonder if the solution to this flagellation I receive from others or from myself is to preemptively do or say something dumb.  Like once a week just get it out there and get it over with.  Maybe it will hurt less if I do it on purpose.  I know one thing.  The answer is not to stifle exuberance and enthusiasm, to decide not to strive to accomplish something.  To sit down and be quite.  That’s no way to live.

This has been a very special episode of Dear Diary.  Tomorrow we return to our regularly scheduled programming with ‘What Does Your God Avatar Look Like’.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

