Inception

My wife and I watched Inception last night.  I saw it at the theater but I had forgotten some of the twists and turns.  If you haven’t seen or heard about it this is the premise:

I group of people have this technology to get inside peoples dreams.  Their purpose is to steal information: passwords, safe combination, business plans, etc.  This particular mission is more difficult.  They plan to plant a thought into someone’s mind so that when he wakes up he will think it’s his idea.  This requires ‘going deep’ as they say, a dream inside a dream inside a dream.  My wife likes to read magazines or play on her iPhone while see watches a movie.  You can’t do that with this movie.  Once in a while she would ask me where we were and frankly the answers I gave were guesses.  I would get confused about who’s dream we were in or what level were at or what was going on in general.  Sometimes I would get overwhelmed and think ‘this is ridiculous’ or ‘this is too much’ but really I love this kind of movie.  It makes you think.  It keeps you on your toes.  It keeps you involved.  And most of all, with this movie, it has an ambiguous ending.  I  love that.

This idea of planting a thought.  Isn’t this the way our enemy works?  He plants an idea of jealousy, condemnation, defeat, sickness, poverty, incompetence, powerlessness and we believe it.  We dwell on it and it becomes the truth to us.  We live in that dream world and it becomes reality to us.  The lie orders our world.

But it is a lie, whatever thought that Satan has planted.  We need to, I need to wake up.  I Peter 2:9 says this:   ‘You are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people belonging to God, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light.’

Sometimes you just need to wake up and set the devil straight.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Movies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Inception

  1. manoahswife says:

    You have no idea how badly I needed to hear that encouraging word today. I have never seen the movie–going to have to now. Thanks for the reminder not to let the lie order my world. It is so easy to slip into without realizing it. Thanks again.

  2. Angus Lewis says:

    I by necessity have to take on home projects occasionally. I always assume it will go smoothly. It rarely does and when it doesn’t I get upset with myself, call myself ugly names, consider myself generally incompetent. I’m afraid Satan has me reprogrammed to expect failure. We all have those sore spots, bruises from the past that cause us to react when they are touched. I need to be constantly alert to Satan’s cunning.

    Inception is a very good movie. I hope you like it. Just don’t ask me to explain it to you.

    It’s that kind of movie.

  3. manoahswife says:

    I had heard that about the movie. A friend of my daughter’s, who is extremely brilliant, did a review on “Inception” for his blog a while back. It didn’t sound easy to explain from his review either. (http://pilgrimvisions.wordpress.com/2010/09/09/inception-a-review/)

    I believe Satan has us all programmed to expect failure. He specializes in beating us up and beating us down until we wind up sitting in a puddle on the floor unable to accomplish anything. He delights in reminding us how worthless we are. He is a liar. He is a destroyer.

    It will always confound me that God saw enough value in us and loved us enough to send His Son to die for our sins. That is what I work hard to remind myself of when Satan comes whispering his poison. Thanks again for the encouragement.

  4. Freedom, by the way says:

    Great post. Great comments. We’ve all gone through times when the devil seems to be swinging our lives by the tail. And then grace steps in (often not as fast as we wish–but our concept of time is not God’s perfect timing) and something wonderful happens.

Leave a Reply

