Goggle Demotes Crummy Content

The above titled article appeared in Information Week on the 25th.  Its about Google modifying their search algorithms to prevent sties with ‘low quality content’  from appearing high on search results.  So here’s my question:  How did they find out about me?  Okay, fess up.  Who told them?  It’s just a little blog.  I wasn’t looking to hurt anybody.  And now Goggle’s search police are out to get me.

Really this is about companies that study Goggle search results to determine how they work so they can get to the top of the list.  They don’t have any, as Goggle says, original content.  They are trying to weed out what they call content farms.  Goggle defines them as “sites with shallow or low-quality content.”

I used to marvel at the accuracy of Goggle searches.  I would be looking for something very specific.  I would put in a strange collection of words knowing there was no chance of getting an answer.  And lo and behold exactly what I was looking for would turn up on the top half of the first page.  The last few months has seen a deterioration in that amazing success rate.  Goggle is doing the right thing.  If I don’t get what I want from Goggle’s search tool I will start using a one that does.  That’s less clicks for Goggle and that means less money.

These content farms produce sites that don’t have any content, don’t have any information, don’t have any value.  Their only purpose is to get hits and thereby get money.  It reminds me of a Bible phrase, ‘clouds without rain’ (Jude 1:12).  They look good but they don’t have any content.

I’m excited about what they call the seeker friendly or seeker driven concept in Christianity.  I think we can too easily get stuck in our Christian lingo, our habits, our particular way of doing things and find ourselves isolated from the world and unable to reach anybody outside our little circle.  But the danger is that in our zeal to reach the seeker we fail to lead them into the life that Jesus has called us to.  We produce Christians in name only.  We don’t see any content, don’t see results, don’t see changed lives.  ‘Clouds without rain.’

Paul and Silas came to one town and the people got all stirred up.  They said, “These men who have turned the world upside down have come here also.”  (Acts 17:6)  They did turn the world upside down.  They did it without political action,without money, without marketing strategies.  It happened because lives were changed, one life at a time.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Humor and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

