Partners in Crime

Okay Back into the archives here.  Something I dashed off at least ten years ago.

Believe it or not it will be spring someday.  And with spring will come…  the squirrels.  Yes they will be back.  Those vile and nasty little rodents.  Yes they are rodents just like mice.  And rats.  They are conniving.  They are resourceful.  They steal what is not meant for them.  But this year.  This year we will defeat them.

Maybe.

I think.

 
“What do you think it is?”
“What do you mean?”
“Is it a bird feeder or a squirrel feeder?”
Ratso shrugged. “What difference does it make?”
“Well, you know…”
“Rizzo, you’re so worried about convention. Loosen up. It’s food. That’s all that matters.”
“Yeah, but they meant it for…”
“They may have meant it for birds. I don’t care. All I’m worried about is can we get to it.”
“Sure we can get to it. All you gotta do is run down the trunk, across the lawn, and up the post.”
“Well, sure, if you want to take the easy way.”
“Whata ya mean?”
“Watch this.”
Ratso ran out on a large limb, then to a smaller limb, then to a smaller one, till he was clinging to a collection of twigs, bobbing precariously thirty feet off the ground. He paused briefly, then launched himself. He landed safely on the roof of the feeder and was soon feasting on birdseed.
Rizzo shook his head in disgust. Then he ran down the trunk, across the lawn, up the post, and joined his friend at the bird feeder.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Humor, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Partners in Crime

  1. manoahswife says:

    I have a Swedish cousin who visited us here in the U.S. about 10 years ago. He was entranced with our squirrels. I tried to tell him that they were just fluffy tailed rats, but he would not be put off. Still loves them to this day. I think I remember him telling us that they didn’t have squirrels in Sweden. Lucky bugger. They are such a nuisance!! Enjoyed this post. I am absolutely certain you got their “conversation” just right! 🙂

  2. Angus Lewis says:

    Thanks for the comment.
    We live in a Kansas City suburb now, a neighborhood built in a cornfield. Not many big trees. The squirrels don’t bother us much. When we get back to Arkansas I will renew the warfare with the evil rodents. I’m looking forward to it.

  3. manoahswife says:

    Lots of squirrels here in Houston. We have very assertive critters. When you gain dominion over them in Arkansas, please consider renewing you warfare here! Thankfully we have never had to deal with them chewing through things in the attic. They mostly confine themselves to “chittering” at the cats in the neighborhood.

Leave a Reply

