That Which You Manifest Is Before You

Christians seem to have this problem with balance.  We (movements, denominations, churches, people) emphasis grace and overshoot into license.  We go for holiness and we become judgmental and self righteous.  In many aspects of the Christian life we react against perceived imbalance and find ourselves going to the extreme in the other direction.  We can’t seem to get it right.

The title above is from The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein.  What does it mean?

Invictus, a poem by William Ernest Henley, ends with these famous lines:

I am the master of my fate:
I am the captain of my soul.

The humanist movement embraced this poem a long time ago.  The idea is that the ‘I’ is emphasized.  I am the master and not God.  And we react against that.  We determine that God is the master of our fates, the captain of our souls.  And we determine that God will direct our lives, every aspect of our lives.  We do nothing till God says so.  We fear getting ahead of God.  We wait for God to turn on the landing lights in the fog of our lives.

Sometimes God gives clear and specific directions.  Sometimes He opens doors.  But sometimes He does nothing more than put a desire, a passion in our hearts.  If we act on those desires we may find abilities we didn’t know we had.  But we have to act.  If it’s going to happen it will take action to make it happen.  The current buzz word is proactive.  That which you manifest is before you, waiting.  Waiting for you to act.  Maybe it’s time to get out of react mode and make something happen.

 

 

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Books, Christianity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to That Which You Manifest Is Before You

  1. manoahswife says:

    So true! My husband has a favorite phrase: “You can’t steer a parked car.” I have often heard people say they are afraid of “getting ahead of God”. Seems pretty impossible that we could ever do that. Not likely we could ever do anything that takes God by surprise. I believe that getting “out of react mode and making something happen” is walking by faith; acting on the desires He puts in our hearts to the best of our abilities. As we walk forward, He gives us further direction. Step by step He leads me!

Leave a Reply

