Found at the Bookstore

Enthusiasm.  That’s what those frufru coffee drinks give me.  I had a Seattle’s Best cappuccino with vanilla, medium size and I thought I could do anything.  I just got a new computer and I’m getting one at work too so I bought a book on application development in Excel 2010, several hundred pages and I could have used a two wheel dolly to get it to the car.   One of those purchases that you look at the next day and try to remember why you bought it.

Sometimes I spend a couple of hours at the bookstore and don’t find anything that interests me.  Other times I come out stirred up about a half dozen books.  This is what I found at Borders yesterday.

Mary is a real writer with published novels and everything.  I read excerpts from her book.  She’s very open about how her faith wanders.  I like people who don’t try to put up a good front.  I read a few paragraphs from the chapter about the woman who washed Jesus’ feet.   Jesus said about the woman. ‘She did what she could.’  We say that and it sounds negative.  But how often do we do nothing because it doesn’t seem like enough.  When Jesus said it, it comes out as a positive.  I think I’ll do what I can.

This book hooked me.  It will probably be my next purchase.

This is nonfiction.  It’s about rare books and the people who collect them, sometimes by stealing them.  I keep stumbling onto this one.  It looks good.  I think I’ll keep it on my wish list.

  • A book on physics, multiple universes, stuff like that

I don’t remember what the book was, who wrote it or anything like that  but the blurb on the cover attracted me.  Something about multiple universes and the laws of physics.  How do multiple universes work?  Does gravity work different in another universe?  Maybe a universe comes into existence and the laws, the balance of forces are not in harmony and the universe instantly annihilates. Maybe the laws are not laws as we think of them.  It’s what works and what doesn’t work.  It is what it is.  I don’t know.  Maybe there is only one way that works and this is it.  The universe (our universe) is at once unbelievably complex, elegantly simple, and perfectly harmonious.  I have trouble believing it just happened.

Scientists can come up with explanations for when it happened.  They have clever theories for how it happened.  But they can’t answer the one question that seems to be hard wired into all of us.

Why?

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Books, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Found at the Bookstore

  1. manoahswife says:

    And it is the “why” on which they stumble. Believing that this all happened by “accident” takes far more faith than believing God spoke the universe into existence.

Leave a Reply

