Return of the Jedi – Alternate Ending

Luke succumbs to the dark side of the force.  In fighting Vader he backs him up till he falls backward down the air shaft.  Luke surrenders his allegiance to the Emperor and returns to the moon of Endor to find Lea.

 

“Lea, you are my twin sister.  The force is powerful in you as it is with me.  Darth Vader was our father.  I have killed him and surrendered my allegiance to the Emperor.  The dark side of the force is too powerful and I have given myself to it.  Come with me as you too must surrender to the dark side and to the Emperor.”

Lea’s face clouds over with disgust.  She grabs the light saber from Luke’s belt and starts up the ramp to the Imperial shuttle.  Over her shoulder she says, “Stay here and try not to cause any more trouble.”

 

Lea enters the Emperor’s chamber.  The Emperor examines her.  He nods his head as understanding comes to him.

“A sister.  A twin sister.  And the force is strong with you as well.  Join me.  Give yourself to the dark side and together we will rule the galaxy.”

“Fat chance.”

The Emperor extends his bony hand toward her.  “Then prepare to die.”

Lea holds the light saber in front of her searching for the switch.  “How do you turn this thing on?”  She finds the switch, turns it on, and begins to block the lightning bolts that are emanating from the Emperor’s fingertips.  She fights her way toward him, turning her head this way and that, squinting against the glare, till she is close enough.  Then with one swoop of the light saber she cuts his head off.

 

She finds Vader about six feet down the air shaft where his cape had caught on something.  She drags him to the shuttle and they escape as the Death Star disintegrates around them.

 

They are quiet as they reach the calm of space.  Finally Vader speaks.

“How’s Luke?”

“He’s fine.  A little embarrassed as you can imagine.  But he’ll get over it.”

Another period of silence till Lea speaks.

“I know a good plastic surgeon that can help.  Maybe get you out of that suit.”

“That would be nice.”

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Humor, Movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

