Movie of the Week

My Favorite Year (1982)

Something brought this to mind recently and I put it on our Netflix queue. We watched it over the weekend. I swear I saw it at the theater way back there. I remembered parts of it, especially the big finish. But my wife didn’t remember it at all. Funny, I didn’t make a habit of going to the movies by myself in 1982.

This is one of my favorite movies but I had forgotten about it. The story is about the early days of television. The lead character is a comedy writer for a live comedy show like Sid Caesar’s Your Show of Shows. On this particular week the guest is a movie star on the lines of Erol Flinn. He shows up drunk. He stays drunk. He chases women but not very hard because they chase him as much as the other way around. In short he is unreliable. He may or may not show up at show time and he may be drunk if he does. They want to drop him but the young writer idolizes him and is willing to babysit him to keep him on the show.  Hilarity ensues.

I rarely watch the commentaries on these DVDs but I enjoyed this so much I watched this one. The commentary was by Richard Benjamin, the director. It was the first picture he directed. Imagine getting Peter O’Toole for your first picture. One of the executive producers was Mel Brooks, uncredited as a matter of fact. The movie has the kinetic insanity of a Mel Brooks movie but it has more than that. It has heart. Richard Benjamin said it was homage to New York City and I can see that, to the New York of the fifties. More than that I think it’s homage to the early days of live TV. Those people were not trying to preach or propagandize. Their humor was not mean. They just wanted to entertain. There was only one criterion for something making it on the show. It had to be funny.

Some movies get on my top whatever list because of plot or character or actors. But some get there because of the mood they create, because of atmosphere. This movie has all the above. But the best thing about it is atmosphere. It has innocence.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

