My First Post – Where I Venture Forth Bravely not Knowing What Awaites Me

I have planned this for a long time.

Every time I get all cranked up to start a blog something happens.  I get sick.  Or maybe I just don’t feel well.  That’s enough to turn me away.  Any excuse is enough to turn me away.

Or I think ‘Why do I want to do this?  I have too much to do.  Movies to watch.  Things like that.  I don’t need this to eat up my time.  Besides,  I have a full time job.  Maybe when I retire.’

Or the words to that Paul Simon song come along.  “The Devil would call my name.  Saying who do, who do you thing you’re fooling?”  Hubris, that’s what it is.  Pride.  It comes before a fall.  (Anybody who would use the word ‘hubris’ is already pretty well eat up with it.)

But never the less here I am.  I feel like tossing the words over my shoulder,  “Ok.  Ok.  I’m writing.  Quit poking me with that stick.” to God or His angel or whoever it is that won’t leave me alone.

Maybe the secret to this is to not take it too seriously.  Just ramble.  I don’t know.  Anyway I’m going to throw some stuff out here in the next week or so that has a strong Christmas connection.  It seems to be the topic I land on most often.

Lets’ see where it goes.

About Angus Lewis

My wife and I lived our whole lives in Arkansas until ten years ago. We moved to the Kansas City area in 2011 (a job change). That was the reason for the 'From a Far Country' title. Our children and grandchildren were in Arkansas. Six months ago we sold our house and bought one in Sherwood, Arkansas and my wife moved back down here. Two weeks ago I retired and moved back too. (I'm probably going to try to find something part time to keep me out of trouble.) So maybe the 'From a Far Country' title is not so much of a fit anymore. But I think I'll stick with it. I'm still not home. Not yet. The Bible says we are all strangers and pilgrims here. Our real home is with God and some day we'll be there. We'll be home.
This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

